Government of Saskatchewan
Quick Search:
Saturday, November 25, 2017

1. Métis

"Métis" means an Aboriginal person who self-identifies as Métis, who is distinct from Indian and Inuit, and:

  • Is a descendant of those Métis who received or were entitled to receive land grants and/or Scrip under the provision of the Manitoba Act, 1870 or the Dominion Lands Act, as enacted from time to time; or
  • A person of Aboriginal descent who is accepted by the Métis Nation and/or Métis Community.

2. First Nations Person

A First Nations person is a person who is registered as an Indian under the Indian Act (also referred to as Status or Treaty Indian).

3. Non-Status Indian

Non-Status Indians are Aboriginal people who are not registered under the Indian Act but who identify with a First Nations community culturally or linguistically.

4. Inuit

Inuit are the Aboriginal people of Arctic Canada.

As of March 2012, 11.8 per cent of the Saskatchewan public service workforce had self identified as an Aboriginal person.

© 2017 Government of Saskatchewan. All rights reserved.